What is Information Media Literacy?

For my VHS Web 2.0 collaboration course, I have used Webspiration to map my understanding of Information Media Literacy.

This is my Webspiration diagram.

Structure

As I read the articles and thought about what IML entails in a Web 2.0 environment, I extended the diagram to include two main branches.  On the left is the more conventional meaning of IMLhow to find information and how to assess sites for validity.  I also thought it was important to look beyond the basic search engines, down to the “invisible web” and beyond one’s filter bubble.  Speaking of filter, the internet does provide information overload, so to be confident in today’s information boom, we need to be able to filter, and not get overwhelmed with the plethora of information out there.

I wondered somewhat whether I should include the right hand side, which involves literacy in terms of being creators of information media.  It may not be contained within the traditional definition of IML, but within a Web 2.0 environment, the literacy needs to include the creating side as well, I think.  People can be creators of information media through various channels, I have only mentioned three, but IML entails awareness of one’s digital footprint and the behaviour of an upright digital citizen.

Reflection

When I first read the task and opened my first “doc” on Webspiration, I felt somewhat daunted by the task.  How could I simplify the information of these articles into a concise diagram?  Also I tend not to use mind maps very often (perhaps something I could rethink) so was not sure how to proceed.  Finally I am not very artistic so was not sure I could produce an aesthetically pleasing diagram.

However once I got started, I was addicted.  I was able to clarify in my head the connections and structure of the concepts.  Then, once I realised images could be used instead of plain shapes I was on a mission.  I had to find an appropriate image for each concept.

The biggest source of dissatisfaction for me was the inability to credit the images I used.  I made notes in the comments section, but am not sure how you are meant to cite the image sources.  The other half of this issue is of course, do I have permission to use the images like this?  I have no idea.  I wrote to a couple of bloggers whose images I “borrowed”, but I have not heard back from them and anyway I cannot even be sure the images were theirs in the first place!

Minor Issues

One minor problem I had and cannot fix is the caption for the logo with all the question marks.  It should state “Recognising Internet Hoaxes” but would not display correctly on the linked viewing version,  despite being correct on the edited version.

Additionally, I would have liked to embed the diagram into this blog, rather than just posting the link.  I could not figure out how to do that though.  Instead I took a screenshot and inserted the image, but then deleted it as it was not clear enough.

Bibliography

“Developing Information Literacy Skills with Web 2.0 Tools.” Web 2.0 Teaching Tools. 2009. Web. 09 May 2011. <http://www.web2teachingtools.com/information-literacy.html&gt;.
Kreutz, Christian. “Social Media Literacy: The Gap between Normal Internet Users and Social Media Enthusiasts.” Crisscrossed. 18 Aug. 2009. Web.
Lasica, J. D. “7 Tips to Increase Your Online Media Literacy.” Social Media News and Business Strategies Blog | Socialmedia.biz. 15 Dec. 2009. Web. 09 May 2011. .

About eadurkin

Originally a HS Mathematics teacher from New Zealand, currently working as Associate Principal in the Secondary School at Canadian Academy, an international school in Kobe, Japan. Married with two children.
This entry was posted in Web 2.0 course. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

