Core values

This year, our new head of school initiated school-wide teacher evaluation surveys to be completed by students.

The questions were relevant, and I was mostly very happy with the students’ responses.

There were two areas, where “sometimes” was the modal response, rather than “often” or “very often”. So I decided to tackle those two issues up front. 

The first “sometimes” was in response to the prompt “My teacher models the school’s core values.”  When I spoke to the students about this, they smiled and said “none of the teachers deal with the core values”.  I actually think they misinterpreted the question as something like “My teacher explicitly incorporates the core values into lessons.” But they certainly have a point: neither the students nor I knew the core values.  So I read them out to the class.

Image

So now my challenge is to incorporate these values into lesson and unit plans, I think.  Or post a different one on the class website every week or month, perhaps. 

About eadurkin

Originally a HS Mathematics teacher from New Zealand, currently working as Associate Principal in the Secondary School at Canadian Academy, an international school in Kobe, Japan. Married with two children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Core values

  1. Lovely core values list. I can see working on those in math class, especially critical inquiry and challenging experiences.

  2. Stephen says:

    I found the same – when we projected them up as students were completing the questionnaire, they saw the relationships between them and our class, but we don’t explicitly address them in our units. I think the components of the mission statement are more measureable and directly addressable through planning. We could have the core values as a big, clear poster in each class, to be referred to as the chance arises, much like the learner profile.

Leave a Reply

