Never in neutral, always engaged.

This post was supposed to be about a great differentiation lesson. But when I asked students to evaluate their experience, something else, that I cannot ignore, happened.

Last week in grade 10 extended mathematics classes, I did a differentiated lesson on applications on parabolas, where students chose their task based on their Sternberg learning style (analytical, practical or creative).

I wanted to hear from them, whether they thought the activity suited them as learners, and whether it was a worthwhile strategy.

I posed the statement, (which, in hindsight, I wish I had thought through more carefully) “I enjoyed the learning style task last week, it suited my learning preferences.”  Students could respond that they

  • strongly agreed
  • agreed
  • were neutral
  • disagreed
  • strongly disagreed

I realize now that allowing the choice of “neutral” was a mistake on various levels:

  1. I should force students to decide whether they agree or disagree
  2. I do not have as clear results as I would like because there were too many options
  3. But mostly, why on earth should I allow my students to be “neutral” about anything in the class.  They should have an opinion, and be engaged in the learning.  I want to know their thoughts on the issue. “Neutral” tells me nothing.

***A car cannot drive whilst in neutral, and a student cannot learn whilst in neutral.***

 

Footnote:

Here are the results of the survey, of two classes.

There may well be other issues to address here, but first I would have liked to know where those “neutral” students would stand.

About eadurkin

Originally a HS Mathematics teacher from New Zealand, currently working as Associate Principal in the Secondary School at Canadian Academy, an international school in Kobe, Japan. Married with two children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

