Preparing for a new leadership role

I am at a crossroads in my career.  About to turn a corner.  I am not certain what lies around that corner, but I know there will be a greater quantity, and a wider range, of challenges.  Right now, it feels that this new road around the corner might be much more hazardous, too.

Earlier this year I applied for a new Grades 6 – 12 Associate Principal position at my current school.  My application was successful.

Up until now I have been a HOD for grades 6-12 Mathematics, which does entail decision-making and leadership.  But within a specialized area, about which I know more than enough to get by.

Now, suddenly, I find myself in the position of not being sure I know enough to get by. Or perhaps, being very sure I don’t know enough to get by.  I have not even started the new job yet, but just over the last week, there were three occasions when I wondered, and even doubted, whether I really do have the right skills for this new “adventure”.  So now begins my new project:

  • search for, and hopefully find, my style of leadership
  • become familiar with student handbooks, and make sure I internalize the rules and systems
  • become more knowledgeable about educational leadership and theory
  • observe and analyze behaviors of current leaders in my professional life

I have had some book recommendations and today I saw a TED talk on Leadership that resonated with me.   I will be blogging about these in the months ahead, hoping to discover how I fit in as a leader.

About eadurkin

Originally a HS Mathematics teacher from New Zealand, currently working as Associate Principal in the Secondary School at Canadian Academy, an international school in Kobe, Japan. Married with two children.
This entry was posted in Leadership Roles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

