Expecting the unexpected

I have been in admin for just over two months.  Students have been in school for six full weeks.  I am very much learning on the job.  I found a recent post by @happycampergirl to be particularly relevant to where I am at right now.

One thing I have finally learned only just this week:  expect the unexpected, and don’t be disappointed when a problem shows up.

Up until today, I have felt my heart sink when I hear of an instance of student misbehavior, or a teacher who is not feeling comfortable with their workload.  It made me feel as if the school was not “working” right.  Finally, only today, I realized that these issues are central to my job.  No matter how we educate kids, they will always make mistakes occasionally, and need our guidance.  No matter how well we staff a school, or how closely aligned faculty members’ basic philosophies might be, there will always be teachers who need our support, and altercations to work through. This may seem obvious, but it is a huge change for me: as a full-time teacher last year, the day went as planned, not punctuated by unpleasant incidents.  So it has been quite an adjustment.

So, I need to be ready to receive these problems, with confidence and positivity, and ready to face them competently.  One important item on the list from @happycampergirl was the first one: make sure you’re ready for it all.  I need to use exercise, deep breathing techniques from yoga, whatever it takes, to make me ready for the day.

About eadurkin

Originally a HS Mathematics teacher from New Zealand, currently working as Associate Principal in the Secondary School at Canadian Academy, an international school in Kobe, Japan. Married with two children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Expecting the unexpected

  1. Miss Night says:

    Hi, and thank you so much for linking to my post. I’m hoping you can correct my twitter ID. I am @happycampergirl. Thank you!

  2. eadurkin says:

    Hi @happycampergirl,

    Done!

    @LizDk

Leave a Reply

