Stuck on Unstuck

Today’s question for the @winniekao #yourturnchallenge is “What advice would you give for getting unstuck?”

I must confess I needed to look up “unstuck”.  I also need to look at other #yourturnchallenge posts, such as this one,  by Maria Aldrey – @Kirisima.  She suggested several links for people wanting to get “unstuck”.  I clicked on the link that lead to a website named “Unstuck” and also skimmed their twitter feed.  I became immersed in the wealth of tips for getting “unstuck”, for a wide range of situations.

http://www.unstuck.com

The advice is certainly helpful, and as I read it, I reflected on what I wanted to be unstuck from, and how I would get “unstuck”.  I would add to all the advice for getting unstuck, by urging those who are “stuck” to clearly articulate their desired outcome.

If you don’t like your job and are considering a career move, a desired outcome might be, “I want a job where I am able to use my talents, enjoy my day to day role, and regularly feel rewarded by the results I achieve.”  From there, you can start to consider your talent, and what careers might match them, then move forward, and hopefully become “unstuck”.

If there is a relationship in your life (family, friends, work) that has gone sour, the desired outcome might be, “I want to have a positive and respectful working relationship with X.”  From there, possibly with help, you may be able to craft a conversation that moves the relationship back to a more productive state.

If you are “stuck”, in a rut, wondering how to successfully resolve a situation, visit Unstuck and clarify your desired outcome.

About eadurkin

Originally a HS Mathematics teacher from New Zealand, currently working as Associate Principal in the Secondary School at Canadian Academy, an international school in Kobe, Japan. Married with two children.
This entry was posted in Leadership Roles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

