Surprising myself

Today’s task for the #yourturnchallenge is to relate a time that I surprised myself.

There have been a few times that I have surprised myself, but most of them were not sudden, they happened over a period of time.  Two such examples that spring to mind are:

  • Running a marathon when I was 40. Earlier in my life I never would have imagined that I could be disciplined enough to train for a marathon.  But I did it.  The timing was good; I took a year’s extended maternity leave after my 2nd child was born and used some of the time to train.
  • Applying for and being appointed as an associate principal.  I was happy being a teacher, and not particularly ambitious to move beyond the classroom.  But I took a risk, and it paid off.  Furthermore, 18 months into the job, I feel like it has been a successful move.

But probably the most influential surprises, albeit not a huge surprise, was when I spoke at my father’s funeral.  I have always been a reasonable public speaker, but because I really believed in what I was saying, I was able to move the audience and received very positive feedback afterwards.

This experience made me realize, that, if I really believed in my message, I can be a powerful public speaker.  Strongly believing that I have a message that others need to hear, the thought of speaking in front of an audience is less daunting, too.

About eadurkin

Originally a HS Mathematics teacher from New Zealand, currently working as Associate Principal in the Secondary School at Canadian Academy, an international school in Kobe, Japan. Married with two children.
This entry was posted in Leadership Roles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

