Beyond Blogging

I am offering a PD session based on the recent #BeyondBlogging workshop I attended in Yokohama, extremely capably run by Rebekah Madrid (@ndbekah) & Jabiz Raisdana (@intrepidteacher).

I have wanted to take the time to pen my thoughts from the workshop, and preparing for tomorrow’s session gives me the perfect incentive.

My main challenges:

  • condensing a 2-day workshop into a 45-minute session, and
  • transforming a rich experience that left a range of questions for me into a clear linear set of “answers”.

Obviously I do not intend to provide a set of answers.  Impossible.  However, I feel that I have made some progress in that the workshop has left me with my own essential questions.  For me, these questions fit our school’s context and where I am right now in my sense of online sharing in education.

    • How do we elicit creativity in our students?
    • How do we foster a culture of sharing, collaboration and connectivity in our community of learners?

For me, the response to the first question involves mostly choice for the students.   Not just with format or topic, but in terms of time and space.  Easy to say, much less easy to do.  Jabiz’s video provides more answers to this question.  (I will be showing the video at tomorrow’s PD session.)

The second question is neither easy to say nor easy to do.  I think we have a rather conservative teaching and learning community at CA (#canacad), and need to nurture a culture of idea sharing, both online and in person.  That is our school’s project coming out of the workshop.  I am very proud of the ideas my colleagues came up with, and hopeful we can do something great with a range of approaches.

So, here is my presentation for tomorrow.  I hope Jabiz & Rebekah don’t mind I have used the same tuning in exercise, as well as the video mentioned above.  I also hope that I will be able to meet the first “challenge” I listed above.

We often read or hear that questions are more important than answers.  I think all of us, including the workshop leaders left with lots of questions, with maybe one or two answers.  Perhaps that is the mark of an excellent workshop, then.

About eadurkin

Originally a HS Mathematics teacher from New Zealand, currently working as Associate Principal in the Secondary School at Canadian Academy, an international school in Kobe, Japan. Married with two children.
This entry was posted in Blogs in the classroom, Laptops in the classroom, Technology, Web 2.0 course and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

